ABOUT US

Who we are

The NCCSAS is governed by the Executive Committee with oversight through the Advisory Board. The NCCSAS general secretariat is located at Duke University, with additional staff offices at NC State University and the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. More information about the organizational structure is available here.

 

NCCSAS Executive Director

Sumathi Ramaswamy,
Professor of History
Department of History

122 Carr Building
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
ph. 919-684-5764
sr76@duke.edu

NCCSAS Staff

Outreach & Program Coordinator:
Pamela Smith
111 John Hope Franklin Center
2204 Erwin Rd. Durham NC 27708
ph919.681.7511

pamela.d.smith@duke.edu

 

Technical  assistant:
Jennifer Prather
ph. 919.684.6054
jprather@duke.edu

Associate Director and Librarian
Edward Proctor
South Asia Librarian
Bostock 236
Box 90195
Duke University
Durham NC 27708-0195
Ph: 919-660-5841
Fax: 919-668-3134
edward.proctor@duke.edu

 

Executive Committee

Executive Director:

Sumathi Ramaswamy, Professor of History
Department of History
122 Carr Building
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
ph. 919-684-5764
sr76@duke.edu

 

Duke

Ajantha Subramanian, Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology
Department of Cultural Anthropology
205 Friedl Bldg
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
ph. 919-684-4544
as360@duke.edu

NCSU

David Gilmartin, Professor of History
Department of History
North Carolina State University
476 Withers Hall
ph. 919-513-2243
david_gilmartin@ncsu.edu

Robert Moog, Professor of Political Science and Public Administration
School of Public and International Affairs
North Carolina State University

Box 8102
Raleigh, NC 27695-8102
Ph: (919) 515-5046
Fax: (919) 515-7333
moog@social.chass.ncsu.edu

 

UNC

Afroz Taj, Associate Professor of Asian Studies
NCCSAS Director of Public Programs
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
201 New West
Box 3267 UNC
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3267
ph. 919.962.1060
taj@email.unc.edu

Carl Ernst, Professor of Religious Studies
Department of Religious Studies
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
125 Saunders
Box 3255 UNC
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3255
ph. 919-962-3924
Fax: 919-962-1567
cernst@email.unc.edu


Administrative Board

Professor Gilbert Merkx
Vice Provost for International Affairs and Development,
Duke University
ph.919.684.5830
gilbert.merkx@duke.edu

Jonathan Hartlyn
Senior Associate Dean for Social Sciences and
International Programs, College of Arts and Sciences
Kenneth J. Reckford Professor of Political Science
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
CB 3100, 205 South Building
Chapel Hill, NC  27599-3100
Ph: 919 962-1165  Fax: 919 962-2408
hartlyn@unc.edu

Jeffery P. Braden, PhD
Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor of Psychology
106 Caldwell Hall
Campus Box 8101
Raleigh, NC 27695-8101
Ph: 919.515.2468
Fax: 919.515.9419
jeff_braden@ncsu.edu

 

Past Directors

Tony K. Stewart (Professor of South Asian Religions & Literatures)

Late John Richards (Professor of History, Duke University)

Bruce Lawrence (Professor of Religion, Duke University)

Katherine Pratt Ewing (Professor of Cultural Anthropology, University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *